News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-03-08-11:28 p.m.

Seeing the Sun

This weekend has been beautiful! Yesterday the sunlight streamed in the window and woke me up. I went through the house and opened all the blinds. It was so good to finally see the sun.

I moved a lot of firewood that was in the middle of the back porch, and swept, and moved the picnic table closer to the door. Oreo had so much fun running around and playing with the kids out there. (They all come outside when they see me working out there.)

I took Benjamin with me to buy pots and potting soil and plants for the back porch. We potted plants on the picnic table, then cleaned up and made supper. Abby and Andrew were over here and ate with us.

Today I worked on the herb garden in the front. The kids have been digging in there and making these huge holes for their "buried treasure." I had to fill in all the holes and then dig it all up and turn the soil over. My poor chives and daisies have been trampled almost to death, but I worked around them hoping that they will perk up.

Daniel and Megan went with me to get manure and mulch and some more flowers. I spread the manure and then we all planted flowers. There is nothing like planting things with your children.

I got everything mulched and cleaned up and swept. I put some lawn chairs on the front porch and found an old fruit box I got from a garage sale and turned it on end to make a little table. I put one of the potted plants on the table and Becky came out and sat with me for a while. We watched the bird who has recently taken up residence in the mud nest in front of the door. We'll be seeing babies soon.

I am tired and sore and feel wonderful. I wish every day could be like today.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!