News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-08-05-7:09 p.m.

Running Away

He tried to sling his backpack over his shoulder, but it was too full, so he slung it a little harder before he got it completely on.

"Where are you going?" I asked.

"I'm running away."

"Oh."

"Forever," he said.

"Oh," I said. "Don't go past the mailbox."

"Okay."

He waited behind the bushes by the mailbox for about ten minutes and then he was back. He talked almost all the other children into running away with him, so they all got their backpacks and ran outside. I could hear them singing the theme song from "On Our Own", this movie we have about some kids who run away from social services and drive themselves to California.

Hold on, hold on

We're on own

We can make it together.

Everything around here is a group activity. Even running away.

***

I told Megan's choir director that I was going to homeschool her this year. I was so nervous. We went in his office and I just blurted it out. He got this glazed look and I thought he was going to lecture me or throw me out or something, but he just looked at me and said, "She can do this anyway!" - meaning try out for district choir. He was so nice. Megan even gets to go out of town to this three day clinic with the choir, and he said she could keep the music in her folder anyway. I think it might have helped that he was my high school choir director and we sang together in the college choir last semester, but whatever it was, he's cool. Double cool.

***

Wedding update:

We checked on cakes. $250 there. *gulp*

We checked on invitations. Maybe $150.

The photographer's storefront was closed. Thank goodness. I can take only so much in one day.

We bought a bunch of glass candlesticks at Goodwill. $8. That made me feel better.

Abby's almost done with her part of the guest list.

She's chosen her colors.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!