News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-08-04-7:01 p.m.

Garage Sale Bonanza

What's nice is when your husband brings you the Saturday paper and you open it up and there's a ten dollar bill in there and then you know that you can go to garage sales after all.

Daniel went with me Saturday. At the first garage sale I combed through each and every article of clothing as usual and he got really bored, but I found a new pair of jeans for 50 cents and a shirt for 75 cents. I also got a shirt for Megan, but she doesn't like it so... I don't know what I'll do with it.

There was a box full of toys and we found a brand-new-looking stuffed Clifford which Daniel wanted to buy so he could give it to Andrew and get to be the recipient of the smile he knew he would get. He also bought this huge book with thick cardboard pages that has a different board game every time you turn the page. You push a button and this electronic thing makes space noises and then lights up the number of squares you get to go.

At the next one I found a basket for a quarter. Whoop de doo. At this point I had spent two dollars and twenty-five cents and had like GOBS of money left, but it was so hot and so humid and Daniel was whining so I just wanted to go home. I mean - a basket?

But we trudged on. I told Daniel if he held out a little longer I'd let him use the coupon he got from the library for a free drink from Sonic. He said okay. And it's a good thing, too, because at the next sale I found 22 Pokemon card pages for 50 cents. And Daniel found a package of rifle practice targets for 50 cents. We were happy. We had redeemed ourselves. So we drove to Sonic and got Daniel his free chocolate coke. It's good, really. Me? What did I get? Not a thing. Sheesh, I can't afford that stuff.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!