News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-08-12-4:36 p.m.

Granola Bars and Pokemon Cards

I admit it. I'm obsessed with granola bars.

I was cleaning up files on my computer and found the granola bar recipe I stored on there a long time ago. I've been wanting to make them forever - just not bad enough to actually look for the recipe.

I made them yesterday. The kids love them. They're better than store-bought, they say. Well, duh! I like them, too. They have oats and raisins and brown sugar and pecans.

Today I used more nuts, chocolate chips instead of raisins and put in some crispy rice. They're still cooling off so I don't know how they turned out. I'm sure I'll keep you posted, though.

***

My kids are obsessed with Pokemon cards. They earned tons of money this summer in the Earning by Learning program at the library and that's pretty much all they want to spend their money on - Pokemon cards.

The good thing about this is that five of them are collecting so they can trade with each other. The bad thing is that five of them are collecting so they can trade with each other. I finally decreed that a trade is a trade and if you don't want to trade FOREVER then don't trade at all. It's keeping the screaming down to a manageable level.

***

I unplugged the TV today. It's stage one of my "gearing up for school" plan. Stage two is everyone does math and we read together. Stage three is add the other subjects.

One of the best things about this year is that we joined the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and Natural History. I'm hoping regular trips will spur everyone's interest in non-fiction reading.

***

Off to check the granola bars.

Wonder what I could put in them tomorrow...??

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!