News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-05-04-5:29 p.m.

5-4-03

We went to a family reunion yesterday. It was a reunion for all the children of one of my aunts, but they invited us because we are such great fun. Not really. It's because they are nice.

I said hi to lots of people I hadn't seen in a long time and ate a lot of good food and watched my kids swim in their clothes since we didn't know there was a pool and didn't bring swimsuits.

My mom introduced me to this eighty-one year old lady who is a senior olympic champion. We looked at photographs of her doing all kinds of athletic things and magazine articles that mentioned her. She said she was the only one in her age group who did the pole vault. I said I could understand that. I asked my mom if the lady was related to me and she explained that she was the daughter of my uncle from another marriage, so no, she wasn't related to me really.

There was this guy who made knives. He MAKES knives. He brought a sample case in to show us. (My dad asked him to.) And they were so beautiful. The handles were burled maple that looked like light green marble. The wood and metal are interlocking so that he doesn't have to use so many pins. So when we were finished admiring the knives I asked him, "Am I related to you?"

He said, "I'm adopted."

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!