News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-02-12-10:21 a.m.

Organizing

We have DirectTV now. I got it for Stan for Christmas. Well, I gave it to him for Christmas, but it's really for everybody.

Anyway, I watch this new show now. These two decorators go into someone's house and completely redo a room while one of the people who live there is gone for the day. The other person who lives there helps the decorators and gets a lot of friends to come help them. I've been watching this show every day and it inspired me to clean up and organize.

One of the best things I did was declutter the computer desk. It's a real long corner desk. Without all the cds and empty software boxes and baskets full of disks I've got tons of room here. I put a chair on either side of me and now I can do e-mail and schoolwork with two kids all at the same time.

I stacked the hardback school books against one wall and put all the workbooks and paper in a flat basket next to it. On the other wall I put the wildlife encyclopedia with some lying flat on either side of some standing up, so there are like little shelves on both sides of the standing up books, and that's where I put an old (but pretty) coffee mug and filled it with pens and pencils. On the other side is the dictionary.

It's all so neat and tidy and I can goof around and do schoolwork at the same time.

Another thing I did was rearrange the dining room. There was a bare corner that had always bothered me and I finally figured out that I should put the hutch at an angle in that corner. Aha! Perfect. I turned the table and the loveseat in the den, too, and the room looks twice as big now. Nothing like rearranging to make you clean up.

This is boring, but I'm just trying to get started writing again.

WEDDING UPDATE:

Have to finish addressing invitations and make tablecloths this weekend. The tablecloths are ready to sew together. Abby and I bought an urn and tons of roses to go in it for the bride's table. It looks nice. Got 80 yards of tulle half price. The urn has a broken handle. Abby asked for a discount and we got 40% off. Cool.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!