News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2020-03-07-8:30 p.m.

The tomatoes are up! I planted them three to a yogurt tub, so they will have room to get fairly large before I plant them outside. They look so puny compared to the peppers.

Ben went flying today. I am finally becoming the kind of person who doesn't whine when the other person wants to do something without me. I watched him fly off and then I went inside to make a smoothie, and then I went to Can Help where everything in the store was half off!

I found Ben five pairs of pants and a nice medium-green long sleeve shirt. I bought two pairs of gardening pants and one of them fits me, so that's good. I'm too lazy to try on pants in the store in their little makeshift dressing room with a sheet for a curtain, so I take my chances with pants that cost $1.50. I got an over-sized white cable sweater that is so warm and cozy and looks nice for being so big. I bought two things just for the fabric, to make shopping bags or girl's dresses. I got four books because I just can't help it, and two magazines that I would probably never pay full price for, but that look interesting. Also some stickers for birthday letters.

At Walmart I remembered my shopping bags and actually sort of enjoyed checking myself out because of that. Even with other shoppers breathing down my neck wanting my register I took the time to put all the produce in one bag, non-food stuff in another, etc. I liked seeing all the colors of my bags while I pushed the cart to my car.

When I drove up the lane to the house, Ben had a fire going and he was carrying bricks around the shed. He doesn't wait for me to get going on projects, which is so different for me and so wonderful. I put the perishables away and changed my shoes so I could go out there, too. I helped him a little with the jack while he placed the bricks to level the shed. Then I raked up some piles of sweet gum balls and got a start on sweeping out the shed.

It feels good to be accomplishing things, and at the end of the day, to touch your face and realize you've gotten some sun on your skin.

Ben told me about his day, talking to pilots, looking at antique airplanes and the flight museum. He hugged me in the kitchen and said, "I love you. I have so much fun with you."

I told him, "Remember how you were talking about the plane and you said you hated to jinx it, but that it has been one hell of an airplane?"

He nodded, yes.

I said, "Well, that's how I feel about my life. I don't want to jinx it, but I really love my life."

It made him smile.

And now he is watching Mandolorean (spelling?), and I am on the sheetless bed with Big Boy sleeping tucked in next to me. Time to get the sheets out of the drier...

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!