News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2020-03-05-10:01 a.m.

How fun to check my little pots every day for progress. More little green shoots? Are the already-born ones taller, stronger looking? Is that a seed popping up, or a piece of perlite?

Sun is streaming in the east window where I have put the little plant children. It's a good thing. I don't do well without light.

It rained all day yesterday while we listened to concert bands at contest. I tried to read, but there was too much talking going on around me. Talking to me, talking over me, around me. I feel antisocial and guilty, but the older I get, the less I can tolerate talking for talking's sake. Please just have something to say before you open your mouth. I thought I would jump out of my skin at one point, and to save myself I moved down the row.

"Did I run her off?"

Yes! Yes, you did!

The rain. Standing water makes little lakes in the low spaces between the sawn off tree stumps this morning. Ben wants to dig a trench beside the garden so the rain will run off without flooding the whole place. This will also give an opportunity for making a little picturesque bridge for grandchildren (and us) to play on.

Last week I noticed that the shasta daisies in the flower bed were coming out from the top. The bottoms were alive, but brown and sad. I took a chance and cut the tops of. I think they will come out from the bottoms now, and I had all these cuttings with new growth on them. I soaked them for a few days and then "planted" them, green growth up, in an old wagon that has an unintentional drainage hole in one corner. I want to go out and check them to see of they are completely flooded, or if the drainage hole did its job. Also, to see if they are establishing or dying.

I know very little about propagating. I have never heard of daisies being propagated this way. It was a little random idea I had while looking at the sad brown daisies. If it works, great! If it doesn't, well, okay.

I know Ben doesn't understand this. When I say I want something in the garden, he wants to know details so that he can help make it happen for me. The trouble is, I don't know the details. The garden, to me, is a process, a microcosm of life. Let's try. Let's see what happens. Let's work hard to make something beautiful.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!