News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2020-03-03-9:37 a.m.

Garden

I have a garden shed!

Ben the Genius figured out how to pull a good-sized shed with his tractor! It was a lot of fun helping him get poles underneath, and then watching him maneuver around a huge cedar tree, then a ninety degree left turn with a little house attached to the tractor with chains!

We thought he would only get as far as the wet and muddy ditch near the garden area, but he kept going straight through the mud and yelled, "Where do you want it?"

I had to think fast, but I think we got a really good spot next to a twisted trunk sassafras tree. The porch will eventually come out past the tree, which will one day have solar twinkle lights.

Now we have to level the shed, clean it out and maybe put in a new floor of some kind. Ben wants to make me a nice covered porch, and use tree trunks for the railing. I am excited about it. The shed will be a nice starting point to plant around and help determine where paths might be.

We might cut down sweet gums before we do any work on the shed. It's hard to find places to dig for beds when they might be crushed by a tree soon. I can dig, but I can't plant yet. Maybe soon...

Onions are doing well. The ones I planted first have nice thick green stalks. They got a little ragged when tree branches landed on them. I'll wait until they are pretty tall, then use some for green onions. Ben sliced me some pieces of a sweet gum tree to use as stepping stones, but right now they are encircling the onions to set off the little bed.

Poor potato patch keeps being abused by the tractor and falling trees. If they come up it will be a nice surprise!

I broke up a garlic bulb into cloves this morning, and watched a few videos about how to plant them. I found a large pot with some drainage holes. It's pretty tall, so I needed some filler and I used sweet gum balls. The seeds inside the balls are supposed to be non-viable this time of year, so I'm hoping I didn't just plant a bunch of sweet gum trees! They took up a lot of space in the pot so I didn't need so much potting soil. I used a little bit of growing medium also, and mixed it in. Then I planted my eleven cloves and watered them in. According to a video, I should see green shoots in about five days.

My pepper sprouts are still doing well, and there are more this morning. I am trying to keep them moist without rotting them at the roots. It is something I will have to learn by doing, I'm sure. Tomatoes should start coming up this weekend. The window isn't getting a lot of sun, due to lots of overcast skies. I'm toying with the idea of placing a heating pad under them. All the tomato pots are on a towel on a glass paned window. I don't think a heating pad will hurt anything. Daisies are not up yet.

In other news, today is George's birthday! He's four now! The fabric for his doughnut pajama pants is still not here. *sadness* So fun to see three of my children (really four with Joseph!) at George's party. And so nice to see them being adults that are kind and fun to be with.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!