News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2011-08-15-9:50 a.m.

Every week I get a report of views on this site. Every week it is just a page full of 0's, except lately it's had a 1 in it. Almost every week there's this little 1 on one of the days. So for that person (or people) who looks at this page once a week, I will start writing again.

I used to have so many people around me that material was ready for the taking. Now it's just me and two boys. They spend most of their time plugged in to something and we don't interact a lot. That's hard to say, but it's the truth. It's so very very hot outside and it's hard to find things for them to do. I let them vegetate and it shouldn't be that way.

I think we are all so used to lots of people being around, and now that it's not that way anymore, it's hard to regroup. It's no excuse.

Here's a story. We were at a wedding this weekend and a friend talked me into going on the dance floor to line dance. Now I didn't like standing there by myself (my person was not invited to the wedding and not welcome as my guest), so I looked at Benj sitting there at a table scarfing shrimp cocktail and told him to come dance with me. "Come on!" I said, gesturing to the dance floor. He just shook his head no and looked away. So I walked closer to his table and gestured again and said in a loud whisper, "Come on! It's Thriller!"

He laughed, but didn't dance with me. I didn't dance, either. My friend had wandered away and didn't notice me leaving so I was off the hook. I waited at my table until I was sure that picture-taking time was over and then left.

My person was waiting for me with a big smile. He said, "I will never go to a social event where you are not included."

I told him I would have stayed to dance with my boys if they had wanted to, or to let Benj have a little wine if the bottles had been opened. But it didn't happen that way.

He said he would want me to. Then he looked at me and there was something new in his eyes. It was the thing that happens when you find a friend you can count on. I'm glad I am that friend.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!