News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2007-07-10-8:01 p.m.

Finally, Friends

We lived here for two years and never saw another kid in the neighborhood. Suddenly, there are kids here all the time.

I have weakened and given in to guitar hero and playstation. We don't own these things, but they have found their way into our house somehow and now I listen to Sweet Cherry Pie on a daily basis.

I squirt the little boys with bug spray and they play on the trampoline or just run around out there doing something, I don't know what. The same things I used to do on summer evenings when I was little, I suppose.

Summer.

Ah...

I love the house being full of children. I love board games and cards scattered all over the table. I love neighborhood boys feeling at home enough here to eat with us or to ask for a sandwich. I love staying up late with them. I love thinking we can go swimming the next afternoon if we want to. I love the crickets and the tree frogs.

I hate knowing that notebooks are on sale for thirty cents at Walmart.

A pox on notebooks!

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!