News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2007-05-24-2:25 p.m.

At the Front Desk

I'm happy with my job now. I get to work in the mornings and have the rest of the day to do whatever I want. And I'm part of the office now instead of working with kids all the time so I get to do accounting and computer stuff along with all the laundry that I fold every day.

It's the same laundry day after day. I mean, EXACTLY the same laundry. Over and over and over. But occasionally, I get to fold aprons from the big kitchen, or baptismal robes, and that gives me a little thrill and keeps me from falling asleep over the laundry basket.

I've noticed since I started working that it takes a long time for people to trust other people. There's one girl I've been saying good morning to, and talking to for six months, and this is the first day she's ever spoken to me first. That was nice.

And there was this:

"Are you going to take those kids for a walk out there in the rain?" asks the cook.

"Oh, is it raining?" Asks the girl pushing six babies in the stroller.

"Nah, I just said that."

(It's really not raining.)

"She's trying to confuse me," says the girl with the stroller to me, after the cook has left.

"Well, it's not that hard to do, is it?" I said.

Her face lit up and she was kind of surprised that I would give her a hard time like that. It was just a little thing, but a nice one. I've felt that before, that little feeling of knowing that you're finally accepted because someone has chosen to tease you, or accept teasing from you. It's too much trouble to tease someone you don't like. Not to mention risky.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!