News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2005-05-18-10:14 a.m.

We're going to the zoo, zoo, zoo.

Monday we finally went to the zoo in Tyler. It's a pretty zoo. I got some ideas for landscaping. And we had a good time just being out of the house and DOING something together besides going to Walmart or the library.

I had the ice chest packed with lovely things to eat and drink so we looked at animals until about 11:30 and then went to the car for lunch. Andrew and Becky had a knock down drag out in the car with chips flying everywhere so I sent her out to the picnic table with the rest of the kids. Andrew wanted me to stay in the car with him and listen to the radio.

The weather was perfect. It was cloudy and cool so I wore a sweater in the morning and then when we went back after lunch I left it in the car. The best part of the zoo was the bird walk where they sell you these popsicle sticks with birdseed stuck on the end and you get to hold them out and the prakeets land on them and peck at the stick. If you do hold your hand just right behind your bird you can get him to stand on your finger while he eats. Tightfisted mother spent a buck on a popsicle stick and gave it to Andrew. Then some people left and handed him their sticks with some birdseed still left on them so I asked for one of his and then finally wrenched one out of his greedy little hand so I could play with the birds. Lots of fun even when your stick is empty and they peck at your hand.

On the way out I upgraded our tickets to a family pass so we can go back anytime we want.

Oh, yeah-- the kids had fun squishing their pennies in the machine that stamped them with pictures of zoo animals and Megan was the official photographer today. She used the camera that Andrew found in the yard. I hope there aren't any strange pictures on there when we get them developed. Maybe I'll put a sign in the yard telling people walking by that we might have their pictures.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!