News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-04-13-10:52 p.m.

Opening Day

Yesterday marked my return to garage sale shopping.

Our town had a garage sale trail and there were tons of people having sales. I was too lazy to get up, however, and wasted most of the morning and missed out on most of the good stuff.

Megan needed me to take her to town because the youth group was singing at a nursing home, and even though I was still in my pajama pants I went to three garage sales on the way home. That's disgusting, isn't it? I even told people, these are the pants I slept in, but I just thought I'd sneak in to this one garage sale.

When I shop for clothes at a garage sale I go through each and every piece, folding them neatly and leaving them in little piles so I can tell which ones I've already looked at. I really don't like it when someone else comes along and starts pawing through my neat piles and moving things around. I have a system and I leave a garage sale much nicer than I found it and I think I deserve a little respect, so please don't mess with my piles.

I found Daniel a Tommy Hilfiger tee shirt and a button down shirt and a pair of shorts, and I found Andrew a pair of shorts. I got a Little People yacht, which was totally cool and got me lots of praise from the little people who live with me, and a Candy Land game, which I was going to buy anyway, only I got it for fifty cents instead of the eighty-four dollars or so that they charge at Walmart.

Later, I found a pyrex mixing bowl for a quarter. That was the best thing of all and the highlight of my whole day. No. It was the highlight of my whole weekend. Really. It's a good bowl.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!