News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-04-04-9:35 p.m.

Wind and Sun

I promised to take the children to the beach yesterday, but Megan was sick, so I didn't want to leave her here sick. The little boys cried they were so disappointed.

Last night we watched a video of the kids flying their kites last year and they had the idea that we should go to Cole Park to fly kites. Megan felt better today so we went!

It was so windy the kites went up quickly and easily. I got Andrew's kite up. It's the first time I've ever flown one. That's so sad, isn't it? I remember my brother making kites all the time. He'd run inside and make some modifications and then run back outside. He must have made hundreds of kites. SOmetimes he would get me to watch him fly them, but I never did it myself.

Daniel is very good at kites anyway, so he would put his up and take it down again to see if he could have a "perfect landing." Megan had a little trouble with hers because by the time she was ready to go the wind started being a little crazy, but later on she put two lengths of string together and got her kite up 700 feet! Becky had bad luck with hers. It broke in the crazy wind.

Andrew lost his when he started goofing around putting the string in his mouth and stuff. I was sitting at a picnic table with Benjamin, and Stan came running by. He was chasing the kite. We watched it fly over a tree and get stuck for a minute and then it flew across the road and into someone's yard. Bob the Builder - lost forever.

Benjamin flew his kite for a while and then put it away and we ate and went for a walk on the pier. He sat down at the end and talked about how much he loved sea creatures and how he thought anyone who hurt a sea creature should be punished. We listened to the waves and the wind for a little while, and then this homeless man started throwing some kind of food or bait or something into the water for the seagulls. He wasn't real careful about where he threw it and he was getting close to slopping it onto us so we left. We passed another fisherman and Benjamin asked, "Did you catch anything?" The fisherman shook his head sadly. We held hands on our way back to the others.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!