News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-03-20-9:54 a.m.

At the Museum

As soon as we got there yesterday we saw that they were having a treasure hunt. They usually do those only on Saturday, but it's spring break in Corpus so they're doing them all week. We happened to get there just in time. Daniel, Megan and Becky's team came in second.

Becky and Andrew and I were in the sugar section of the museum and Becky was explaining slavery to Andrew. She told him about how they were squished into the boats and then when they got here they had to be slaves.

"But there was a guy named Abraham Lincoln," she says, "Who said, no, sir, we're not going to do things that way anymore. But he died. Somebody shot him."

"Was he on our team?" asks Andrew.

"Yeah, he was on our team."

***

Daniel got his cast off on Tuesday and played in a playoff game that night. He fell on his wrist once and made me wince, but he was okay. He made a shot! He put up two shots and one went in! We went crazy. The lady in front of me turned around to look at me and I said, "That's my son. Can you tell?"

We got his cast off a little early and went through Medical Malarky Land to do it, but I'm glad we did. Daniel needed that shot. I think he finally learned to let go and risk making a mistake. It will be a lesson he can use all through his life.

Wedding Update:

I am hemming things and putting extra netting on a petticoat and making the final list for the florist and getting the boys' clothes ready and washing tablecloths (I finally got them sewed together. It was a big job and took hours.) Abby is working on a little program that looks very nice. We talked to Brother Jesse about the ceremony and I got sick to my stomach three times in his office. I hope I make it through the ceremony.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!