News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2003-03-01-9:17 a.m.

On That Note...

Musically speaking, this was a great week.

On Monday night all my girls and I went to the hear the Austin Symphony Orchestra in the high school gym. I've heard symphonies only in a gym or on the stereo. Someday I'll get to hear one with the right acoustics. Someday...

They had been playing for a few minutes and I turned to Becky to ask her how she liked it. Her eyes were shining. "This is awesome," she said. Later she told her brother that it was better than rock music and that he should go next time. Ahhh...

On Tuesday Stan called to say someone had given him tickets to George Strait. I didn't want to go, did I? I really didn't. I'm not that crazy about George Strait. But I said, "Let's go." I thought it would be fun.

There were a couple hours of rodeo first. I had never been to a rodeo before and it was fun to watch. The calf scramble was the best thing - high school kids wrestling calves to the ground and putting halters on them. No horse, no lasso, no nothing, just their bare hands. That was cool.

Lots of people there. Very few empty seats. I think the announcer said seventy thousand. Could that be right? Seventy thousand? An excellent target for some terrorist idiot. We were in the row in front of the George Strait fan club, I think. They screamed in unison and in dissonance. I finally learned to anticipate their screams so I could cover my ears just in time.

People started leaving during the second hour (not the cheerleaders) so we found some different seats. These were great seats where we could lean against a concrete wall and let our legs hand over the seats in front of us.

George Strait is boring. He sang a lot of good songs, but as an entertainer he can put you to sleep.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!