News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-06-03-6:41 p.m.

Epiphany

At supper tonight, Benjamin was looking at one of his Bionicle leaflets. He asked what "rubble" meant.

I explained it and then I started thinking of Barney Rubble and my brain went, ding!

Rubble - rocks - Flintstones. I had never connected Barney Rubble with the fact that his name actually meant something. Ding! Ding, ding, ding!

It feels good to figure something like that out, but it's a little scarey that I didn't do it a little sooner, like when I was ten.

***

We had family pictures made yesterday. I noticed right before we left that Daniel had put on a shirt that had words on it. I went inside and got a different shirt and handed it to him. He took the first shirt off, but didn't put the other one on for a while. I guess he thought it would be better if he squashed it into the crack of the seat and got it full of wrinkles first.

Abby said, "Hey, why don't we get our pictures taken as shirts and skins? Wouldn't that be a lot more thoughtful gift for family members than just a normal picture where everyone has all their clothes on?"

We considered it, but ended up having a regular, boring picture made.

***

Megan said her orange drink made her feel like she wanted to hawk a lougie.

"Is that what you learn in public school?" I asked.

"No, I learned it at church."

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!