News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-02-27-8:36 a.m.

Pushing My Button

It's almost time to leave for choir practice and I realize I still have a safety pin in the cuff of one of my sleeves because the button came off. This is my favorite warm shirt and it's real cold so I don't want to change. I run to the drawer that has my sewing stuff in it and get a needle and thread, pick a button out of my button jar, go to the bedroom and lock the door.

I'm sewing and really trying to hurry so I won't be late for choir. We have to drop Megan off at church first so we're getting crunched for time. I hear a little voice coming through the door. It's strangely muffled and I can tell that she's got her mouth pushed into the crack of the door.

"Maw-mee, maw-mee."

It's Megan, but she's speaking in some kind of strange foreign voice.

"What?" I yell, sewing as fast as I can.

"Let's gow, Maw-mee."

Now she's making me laugh and it's hard to sew when I'm laughing.

"I'm going as fast as I can."

"Please, please, Maw-mee."

"Go away."

"No, I vant to gow to church."

"What country are you from anyway?"

"A country dat has food, but you won't take me to da place dat have spiritual food, da bread of li-eeeeef."

I'm laughing more now.

"Please, Maw-mee!"

Okay the button's on now and we can go, but I kind of want her to talk to me some more. I like it when my kids entertain me.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!