News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-02-11-8:37 p.m.

Cookies and a Little Crush

These are the cookies I made today:

MOLASSES GINGERSNAPS

3/4 cup vegetable shortening

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup molasses

1 large egg

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 cup sugar

Cream brown sugar and wet stuff. Combine dry stuff except for white sugar. Add dry stuff to wet stuff gradually.

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Put white sugar in a bowl. Shape dough into balls. Roll them in sugar and put them on a cookie sheet - twelve to a sheet. Bake 8 - 9 minutes. They are very, VERY good.

***

The little boy who lives down the street really likes Becky. He's five. She's nine. I guess he has a crush on her.

One day he came down here, knocked on the door and handed her a used bottle of Lucky Brand cologne and a silver ring, and then went back home. When I found this stuff I called his mother and asked if she was missing these things. She said yes, they were frantically looking for them! So I sent Becky over there to return them.

Today the little boy came over, knocked on the door and handed Becky some brand new toys. A pretend cell phone that opens up and has a mirror and makeup in it, and a big locket that has three little necklaces in it. Suspicious, I told Becky to call his mother and ask if it was okay for him to give her these things. She said yes. She told Becky that he had been doing chores around the house to earn money so he could buy those things for her. What a little sweetie! I wonder what he'll do for Valentine's Day?

***

Andrew came over for dinner tonight. He saw me carrying the water jug to the table and said, "You made water!?!"

We nearly had a fistfight over the last of the potatoes. I swear if I had made more no one would have eaten any.

***

Megan is thrilled to be the track team manager. I'm thrilled to be having to pick her up every day after school and take her to school for each and every track event until the end of the school year.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!