News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2002-01-16-4:54 p.m.

I Get Acquired by the Choir

I joined the community choir last night.

It's really a community choir mixed with the college choir and the community choir people only have to go to practice on Tuesday nights and we don't get grades. And now that I think of it we could probably chew gum or be late if we wanted and we wouldn't get in trouble.

I left Megan in charge of the little ones and drove confidently to the college. I parked and walked confidently to the music building, confidently entered and confidently stood outside the choir room listening to all the people inside talking to each other - all the people who were supposed to be there and who already knew each other. Then I confidently walked right back out again. If Abby hadn't been sitting in Andrew's truck out in the parking lot I would have driven confidently home again. But she saw me and said, "Oh, come on, Momma. I'll go with you."

So we went in together. And I sat by her, too. Wow.

Dr. Lee came over and asked Abby, "Who is this?"

I told him my name and shook his hand and he asked me my voice part and I told him I was an alto. He looked at me and then he looked at the row of people behind me and then he looked at me again.

"Do you want me to go sit back there?" I asked.

"Yes," he said. Just like that. Just "Yes." And I thought, well, this man knows how to get things done.

I had a lot of fun. I met the girl sitting beside me. She works at the library and I told her it was nice to know her name because I always just think of her as the library lady. "You're the one who knows everything," I told her.

She said she didn't know everything, that she just knew how to find out most everything.

On the other side of me was my high school choir director Mr. MacAulay. We always called him Mr. Mac. When he kicked this girl's chair and she turned around and said, "Hello, Mr. Mac" it made me smile. He remembers me.

We sang this one song called Agnus Dei. I knew how to pronounce the words, thanks to Mr. Mac. (I should have told him that.) It was VERY pretty and after we sang it I turned to the library lady and said, "That's nice, but what does it mean?"

I said it as sort a joke, but she opened her music and told me exactly what it meant, word for word. I guess my eyes got big because she smiled and said, "I was a Latin major."

Latin major?? I can see majoring in an alive language, but a dead language? I wonder if she uses that anywhere else but choir. I hope so.

The last song we sang was an Irish blessing song. I sight-read it almost perfectly. I sure hope someone noticed.

I asked Abby in the car if I embarrassed her at all and she said no, so I guess the evening was a success.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!