News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2001-10-07-7:08 p.m.

Benjamin

Benjamin is my little guy with long eyelashes and soft, thin hair. His eyes are honest and curious. He has a beautiful little mouth and he wouldn't mind that much if he knew I said that.

He never picked up a crayon until he was four years old and then he drew complete pictures of things. Like rockets or race cars. I thought he might be an artist, but he draws such angular things - perfectly straight lines and lots of geometric shapes - that I think he might be an architect or an engineer. I can't wait to see what he ends up doing for a living.

You'd think that, with an analytical mind like his, Benjer would be distant or a loner, but he's not. He likes to play by himself and is very much calmer that way, but he loves people, is very affectionate to me, and is tender with children who are smaller or younger than he.

When our new (stray) dog had puppies last week, Benjamin chose the runt as his favorite. Daniel said that it made sense as Benjamin is little and scrawny and so is the runt. I'd catch Benjamin with that little black pup in the house several times a day. He would hold him on his bare chest while he watched TV or carry him around under his tee shirt while he played. One day I found him in his room with all six puppies and I tried to explain to him about FLEAS!

It rained the other night and the puppies got wet. Stan put them in the garage and I was glad as I have this thing about not wanting to get attached to the puppies because I know they have to leave sometime.

The next day Stan and I were out and called home for some reason. Becky told us the runt wasn't moving very much and he didn't look good. I vowed I wouldn't get involved, but later I was doing laundry and heard the little one crying. I picked him up and he was cold. How could he be so cold and still be alive? I stuck him in my shirt and took him inside. Stan was talking to the vet on the telephone. She wasn't very encourging.

We turned the oven to barely on and laid the puppy in front of it, changing his cup towel covers every so often when they cooled off. The puppy warmed up a little bit. Benjamin wanted to read him a story. I put him off because I was so concerned with the puppy.

"Tell me when his nap time is so I can read him a story, okay, Momma? Is it his nap time now?"

"Yes, it is."

Benjamin's eyes lit up and he sat in one of the chairs we had gathered by the oven and began: "Mat. Mat sat."

The puppy was moving and breathing and had taken some milk from an eyedropper. I was very sleepy and decided to let Benjamin puppysit for a little while.

"Sam. Sam sat." It was so very sweet. I wish I had taken a picture.

Runt didn't make it. But Benjamin got to read his little pal a story and that helped him, it helped me and I guess it helped everybody.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!