News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2001-09-05-11:00 p.m.

Goddreaming

The preacher's talking about something. Something out of the old testament. Numbers. The pillar of fire and the cloud...

I'm think about how our reality is like a piece of paper and God is this three-dimensional (even more than three-dimensions, really, since reality is reduced to a plane represented by the piece of paper) being who wants to come into our world and reveal himself to us. But how can a three dimensional being enter a two dimensional space? So he takes his finger and pokes it through the piece of paper. The slice of his finger which then intersects with the plane that is our reality is what he reveals to us, namely, Christ. (I didn't think this up. One of my math teachers showed this to us in chapel one day.)

More Numbers. The people were numbered for military reasons...

What I'm trying to figure out is what happened to the slice of reality that intersects with God? Isn't it still there? Did God's finger actually remove part of reality? Is his finger invisible? No. Well, yes, of course it is invisible, but that wouldn't allow him and the slice of reality to take up the same space. So I wonder if God (in reality) takes up no space at all but then I remember that Christ was matter and he did take up space. And then I think that that little slice also has to include scripture and the Holy Spirit and I'm totally baffled. But I think, with guilt, that, gee, my thoughts are a lot more interesting than what the preacher is talking about, but I'm worshiping in my own way and that's why I came here anyway.

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!