News From Home

terryp

Get Your Own Diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact Me

Older Entries

My Profile

2001-09-04-4:00 p.m.

Passing It On

Andrew's (Abby's Andrew) grandparents lost almost everything they owned in the recent flooding of the creek near their house. Water ran through their house nearly to the ceiling and left mud on everything. Abby and Andrew have been over there the last three days helping to clean up and throw away and get the grandparents moved into an apartment.

I cooked. Lasagna, salad, cake, fruit salad. And put drinks in a non-returnable ice chest. Becky was my helper. She followed every step of that meal, watching me cook and slice and pack things up.

"Why are you doing all this work, Momma?" she asked me several times. I told her it was to help the people who lost all their stuff. But then I realized the real reason I was doing it was because I'd seen my mom do it.

When someone had a death in the family Momma made food. When someone wasn't going to have a very good Christmas she brought toys. Time and time again. Yes, I did it to help and to comfort, but mostly I think I did it because I had an example. I'm lucky.

And it was pretty neat when Becky hugged me and said, "Momma, you are so sweet and kind. I want to be just like you."

previous-next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!